COUNCIL

Wednesday 22 May 2013

Councillor S J Barnes (Mayor)

Councillors:	S. Ainley (a) B.M. Andrews	P.A. Allan P.A. Andrews	R .Allan E. Bailey (a)
	P.G. Barnes	C.P. Barnfather	D.N. Beeston MBE
	A.S. Bexon	K.M. Blair (a)	F.J.D. Boot
	N. Brooks	G.V. Clarke	W.J. Clarke
	R.F. Collis	S.M. Creamer	R. Ellis
	A.M. Ellwood	P. Feeney	K. Fox
	A.J. Gillam	M.S. Glover	G.G Gregory
	C.J. Hewlett	S. Hewson	J. Hollingsworth
	M. Hope	P.A. Hughes	P.R. Key
	M. Lawrence (a)	P. McCauley (a)	B.S.R. Miller
	R.J. Nicholson (a)	M. Paling	J.M. Parr
	M.R. Payne	V.C. Pepper	S. Poole
	C.J. Powell	S.J. Prew-Smith	D.E. Pulk
	N. Quilty	R.F. Spencer	S.J. Tomlinson
	J. Truscott H.T.N. Wheeler	G.G. Tunnicliffe	M. Weisz

1 OPENING PRAYERS

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Ainley, Bailey, Blair, Lawrence, McCauley and Nicholson.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors Hughes and Powell declared personal interests in agenda item 12 as Chairs of the Performance and Policy Review Scrutiny Committees respectively.

4 TO ELECT A MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

It was proposed by Councillor John Clarke, seconded by Councillor Payne and:-

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Bob Collis be elected Mayor of the Borough of Gedling for the ensuing year.

Councillor Collis made a signed Declaration of Acceptance of Office and adjourned the meeting to allow the transfer of Chain of Office and Robes.

The meeting then resumed with Councillor Collis in the Chair.

5 VOTE OF THANKS TO OUTGOING MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor John Clarke, seconded by Councillor Barnfather and:-

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Sandra Barnes and Councillor Peter Barnes, her Escort, be thanked for the work undertaken by them during their term of office as Mayor and Escort of the Borough.

6 TO APPOINT A DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

It was proposed by Councillor John Clarke, seconded by Councillor David Ellis and:

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Jenny Hollingsworth be appointed Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

7 TO RECEIVE THE MAYOR'S NOMINATION OF CHAPLAIN AND THE MAYOR'S CHARITY FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

The Mayor nominated Reverend Ken Shill of St. Mary's Church as his Chaplain for the ensuing year.

The Mayor nominated Framework and Emmanuel House as his Charities for the ensuing year.

8 TO CONFIRM THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor Payne, seconded by Councillor David Ellis and:

RESOLVED:

That Councillor John Clarke be recognised as the Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.

9 TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION FROM THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL OF PORTFOLIO HOLDERS AND MEMBERSHIP OF THE CABINET

Councillor John Clarke advised the Council of his appointments of Cabinet Members and Deputy Leader.

10 TO RECOGNISE LEADERS OF THE POLITICAL GROUPS

It was proposed by Councillor Parr and seconded by Councillor Powell that Councillor Barnfather be recognised as the Leader of the First Opposition Group for the ensuing year.

It was proposed by Councillor Gillam and seconded by Councillor Tunnicliffe that Councillor Hughes be recognised as the Leader of the Second Opposition Group for the ensuing year.

11 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND SUB COMMITTEES

It was proposed by Councillor John Clarke and seconded by Councillor David Ellis that the list of Chairs, Vice Chairs and members of each Committee and sub-committee of the Council as set out in the amended list, circulated at the Council meeting, be approved.

RESOLVED:

To appoint Chair, Vice Chairs and Memberships of the Council's Committees and sub-committees in accordance with the document circulated.

12 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES

It was proposed by Councillor John Clarke and seconded by Councillor Payne that the Council representatives on the bodies listed on the schedule circulated be approved.

RESOLVED:

That Members be appointed as representatives on the bodies indicated for the municipal year 2013/2014.

The meeting concluded at 8.01 pm